Aaron Saunders
1 min readOct 3, 2016

--

I think this is great that you acknowledge the privilege, I know plenty of developers who can’t even get to one conference a year. Most of the larger conferences are on the west coast so if you are new in the industry, not well paid the the cost to go is simply a non starter.

To make this field better, IMHO, the conferences need to find a better way to make them less about the usual suspects all meeting up to chat about great things they have done year in and year out and more about introducing a more diverse group of people to conferences.

My first apple developer conference that I went to more than 20 years ago changed my life and perspective on a career in software development. This past year my daughter was able to go to a conference for the first time and it has reinforced her commitment to becoming a software developer.

It is unfortunate that going to conferences are considered a privilege when it is the conference itself that can actually increase the number of people that become more excited and committed to entering the field of technology.

--

--